top of page
  • Writer's pictureDr. Snap

The Disconnect Disconnect

Updated: Oct 20, 2023


Maybe my connection is tired of takin' chances

 

There’s a bit of a deficiency in players who aren’t attention-deficit.


Look, I’m a gamer – a bit of a competitive one, but not too major… and not too laid back either. A quality match is all I desire.


But it's hard to find a quality match when players are getting swapped in and out constantly. An argument can be made that it's a “casual” game, and people can do what they want, but quite frankly, it's not a game at all if you can’t play it.


I talked about this issue before in regard to Payday 2. Moving on to other games (Team Fortress 2 and Left 4 Dead 2 have piqued my interest lately), its commonplace here as well. People just can’t stop leaving the match.


I used to joke about people treating these games like “loading screen simulators”, but now it seems to be more of an unexaggerated observation. There’s something seriously wrong with the patience of players today.


When victory needs to be earned, the disconnect button is only a click away. Why rise to the challenge of turning the tide in battle when you can just keep rolling the dice in hopes of getting a carried team instead⸮ People don’t play for the high of competition, but rather the high of gambling.


It is a pathetic display, really.


Perhaps now, it is exaggeration when I say: “the respawn timer will one day be obsolete”, but we shall see later down the line. The future of gaming seems strange to me.


Counter Strike: Global Offensive suffered just as much of an issue. The fix? A cooldown. Unironically, dare I say, “based”. Maybe other games follow CSGO’s footsteps, I don’t pay much attention. But if only the aforementioned titles could do the same. Make time for your matches or stay the hell out.


 

Related posts...


Comments


bottom of page