top of page
  • Writer's pictureDr. Snap

Payday 2 - I saw it all, I know it all

Updated: Jan 3


The future is exactly what it used to be...

 

It is with great sadness to report that my time with Payday 2 is, likely, coming to an end.

On January 19, my mod “Snap's Mod” was made public. After its release, this place became a home for my thoughts on the happenings of things.


My thoughts on the happenings of things are, unfortunately, here to stay. However, the same cannot be said about my thoughts on things related to Payday 2. My inconveniences with the game ended up being the forefront. It's obvious this has been a long time coming.


There was a time when the game prospered – perhaps then, there would’ve been more logs on the game’s events. Unfortunately, these scriptures began manifesting at a time where Payday 2 stagnated totally.


After 2,000+ hours, I’ve seen it all. I’ve played every level, seen every outcome, seen every out-of-bounds secret, seen every mechanic that is hidden and/or broken.


The community is unbearable. The mods I use to breathe new life into the experience are simply too much for the average player to handle. I end up playing by myself most of the time.

The AI teammates are just that… AI. Incompetent and lifeless.


With Overkill, further developments on anything have come to a standstill. Despite releasing a development update video for this Christmas, it is (prepare your ears) the same old shit I’ve heard before.


  • More weapons, as if there aren’t already dozens that are carbon copies or downright useless.

  • More “balances”, as if it’ll fix the colossal mess we have now.

  • More DLC, as if any will be worth paying for.

  • More maps, as if the objective changes. As if the approach is any more exciting. As if the lore gets any better.

  • A new perk deck that encourages... you guessed it, a more aggressive, non-cooperative playstyle.

A recurring topic you see with these scriptures is enemy AI. Any changes coming to this crucial mechanic⸮ Nothing as far as the eye can see.

Overkill can keep adding maps, weapons, balance… whatever. Each fight will still be so idiotically predictable.


The modding community is just gone. Modworkshop is a laughingstock with no sense of quality control whatsoever. Terrible, outdated memes and anime flood each page, and they are shameless about it.

Is it any wonder the game degenerated with time⸮ Look who the audience is.


The only interesting balancing mods change too much and/or lock you from public lobbies with a network key.


I've "known" this for a while, but I think it's finally starting to sink in and hurt: the old days of Payday 2 are long gone.


Teamplay and strategy are out the window. No one has patience for such a thing anymore. Its every man for himself... not that it matters. It isn't like Left 4 Dead where a system punishes the arrogant.


Simon Viklund's soulful compositions are gone, and now we're just getting a steady supply of crappy corporate dubstep.


The new missions try so hard to reconnect you to that "criminal mastermind" mentality, but there's just this jarring dissonance I can't shake off. Maybe it's those "H3H3" characters⸮


I want to say I have hope for Payday 3. I really do.

But with each developer update, the future becomes increasingly grimmer.

 

Related posts...



Comments


bottom of page